Media Release - Kimba Consultative Committee Announced

11 December 2017


Monday 11 December 2017

Kimba Consultative Committee Announced

THE Kimba Consultative Committee has been appointed, and includes 14 members plus an Independent Convenor and a Deputy Convenor.

The new Committee is a critical part of the Phase Two Consultation process that is continuing in Kimba in relation to the proposed National Radioactive Waste Management Facility.

The committee will be a direct link between the Government, the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science and the local community. Its roles will include:

·         Providing advice in relation to jobs, business opportunities and community benefits;

·         Receiving advice on the technical aspects to relay back to the community; and

·         Reviewing the nominated projects under the $2 million Community Benefit Package.

The establishment of the Kimba Consultative Committee mirrors the successful consultation model put in place to support a third nominated site at Wallerberdina Station.

In total, 51 people applied to be appointed to this Committee.

Minister for Resources and Northern Australia, Senator Matt Canavan, welcomed the strong interest and congratulated the successful community members.

“The Kimba Consultative Committee is an important part of the community consultation process,” Minister Canavan said.

“The large number of applications received is a great demonstration of how highly the Kimba community is engaged with this discussion, and I thank everyone who put their name forward.

“The Kimba Consultative Committee is made up of a large mix of people including local business owners, landowners, members of local government and members of the community.

“It also includes people whose stated views are supportive, opposed or neutral in relation to the proposal for the area.”

The first meeting of the Committee is expected to be scheduled in January 2018 and it will meet regularly throughout the consultation period.

Applications are currently open for grants under the $2 million Community Benefit Programme, and the new Committee will consider these early next year.


Media Contact – Kylie Barron 0438 493 114