Barndioota Consultative Committee

The formation of the Barndioota Consultative Committee was announced November 21, 2016.

Nominations opened in September and closed 13 October, 2016.

The committee is made up of an independent convener, deputy convener, and 17 members including businesses and land owners, Indigenous Australians, local representatives and individuals. The size of the committee was expanded to reflect the large number of applications received.

It will advise the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science on matters including:

  • funding projects proposed under the $2 million Community Benefit Programme
  • the design and operation if the facility goes ahead in that location
  • how best to measure community support for the facility.

In line with the guidelines (PDF 427K, DOC 196K), the committee is not a decision-making body and performs an advisory role only between the community and the government. Community members who make up the committee will meet regularly throughout the process to discuss key aspects of the project. Refer to the Terms of Reference which set out the responsibilities and mode of operation of the committee.

The committee will remain an active group for the duration of the site selection process. It will be the Minister's discretion if the committee remains in place after this decision. Consultative committees will be set up in communities where sites have progressed to the technical assessment stage.

Committee members

  • Paul Thomas (Convener)                                      
  • Greg Flint (Deputy Convener)
  • Michael Anderson
  • Susan Andersson
  • Dianne Joy Ashton
  • Denise Carpenter
  • Ronald K Daniel
  • Philip Leo Fels
  • Jon Gill
  • Ashley Haywood
  • Julia Henderson
  • John Hennessy
  • Janice McInnis
  • David Michael
  • John Rowe
  • Aaron Stuart
  • Steven Taylor
  • Rachel Vella
  • Cecilia Woolford

Barndioota Consultative Committee minutes

13 December 2016 (PDF 476KB)

9 February 2017 (PDF 967KB) plus ANSTO WAC presentation (PDF 1.76MB) and ANSTO's consultative committee presentation 

28 March 2017 (PDF 664KB)

2 May 2017  (PDF 561KB

27 June 2017 (PDF 848KB)

22 August 2017 (PDF 393KB, DOC 935KB) plus Waste Acceptance Criteria presentation (PDF 329KB), ARPANSA role in the NRWMF presentation (PDF 1.8MB) and response from ANDRA to Greenpeace presentation (PDF 78KB)

10 October 2017 (PDF 623KB) plus Mark Moore's ANSTO presentation (PDF 9.1MB), Dr Geoff Currie's Nuclear Medicine presentation (PDF 3.6MB), David Bruce's ORIMA Report (PDF 1.28MB) and Telstra's Indicative Upgrade Proposal (PDF 952KB)

12 December 2017 (PDF 623KB) plus Telstra's Indicative Upgrade Proposal (PDF 952KB)

20 February 2018 - AECOM Information Session (PDF 533KB) plus AECOM Wallerberdina Site Characterisation presentation (PDF 792KB), Wallerberdina Study Areas (PDF 694KB) and AECOM Local Business Opportunities (PDF 17KB)

14 March 2018 - Community Benefit Programme application review (PDF 644KB)

11 April 2018 (PDF 715KB) plus Department of Environment's Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 presentation (PDF 884KB) and ANSTO's Concept Design presentation (PDF 109KB)

15 May 2018 (PDF 1,004KB) plus ANSTO's Waste Management at the Facility presentation (PDF 900KB)

26 June 2018 (PDF 882KB) plus ANSTO's Safety & Security presentation (PDF 1.5MB), ANSTO's Concept Design presentation (PDF 791KB) and ANSTO's Low Level Solid Waste Processing (PDF 756KB)